Revealing Truth Today

Standing for the truth and sharing Jesus with others!

5 Important Truths I’ve Learned (Part 1)

on February 12, 2017

The Lord saved my soul nearly 30 years ago when I was a young girl. In the many years I’ve walked with Him, I have found Him to be faithful, trustworthy, and true. I still have much to learn, but I would like to highlight some of the truths which God has shown me in these (almost) 30 years. The list below is in random order, as I feel all of these truths I’ve learned have their own importance.

Since I will briefly expound on each truth, I will break this up into parts. This is Part 1 of 3. I hope something written here will help you in your journey toward Heaven and a closer walk with our Lord.

gf1.) ALWAYS PUT GOD FIRST AND SEEK HIS WILL IN EVERYTHING – If we put God first, everything else falls into place (see Matt. 6:33). The Lord’s Prayer teaches us to pray for God’s Will. Think about it, His Will is done in Heaven and that is one of the many great reasons that it is heavenly, peaceful, and wonderful. As Nazi concentration camp survivor, Corrie Ten Boom, once said, “The safest place to be is in the center of God’s will.”


cp2.) DON’T COMPARE YOURSELF TO OTHERS – This is a lesson that I have to be re-taught often; but find great liberty if I follow this advice. Don’t compare temporary things such as appearance, abilities, success, or finances. Be content with what you have (see Phil. 4:11). But most importantly, never ever dare to compare yourself to nominal Christians who seem to “get away” with sin or a lax walk with God. Remember, God knows and sees all. He sees your obedience and will reward you openly (see Matt. 6:5-6). The Bible even says that it is unwise to compare ourselves to others (see 2nd Cor. 10:2).


fg3.) LEARN TO FORGIVE – Forgiveness is one of the more challenging things we must do in order to maintain a strong walk with the Lord. It is vital that we learn to shrug things off, forgive, and not stew over things. Again, this is a lesson we must re-learn over and over; but we must be able to forgive. Forgiveness does not condone sin or wrong actions of another, but it gives us freedom to love and live freely. As much as it depends on you, the Bible says, we are to live at peace with all when possible (see Rom. 12:8). I like this quote: “To forgive is to set a prisoner free, and discover that the prisoner was you.”


pryr4.) NEVER UNDERESTIMATE THE POWER OF PRAYER – There have been so many times when I have found myself in a quandary, not knowing what to do. I have found that prayer clarifies things for me so much easier than me wracking my brain trying to figure out situations on my own. Inevitably, God will drop a scripture into my mind that will help clarify things for me. Prayer gives me courage, comfort, healing, direction, and deepens my trust in God. Prayer is limitless, you can talk to God about anything! It is a necessity as a Christian. Revivalist, Leonard Ravenhill, once put it like this: “No man is greater than his prayer life.” And the beloved preacher, Charles Spurgeon, once said, “Prayerless souls are Christless souls, Christless souls are Graceless souls and Graceless souls shall soon be damned souls. See your peril, you that neglect altogether the blessed privilege of prayer!”  


cry5.) IT’S OKAY TO CRY IN GOD’S ARMS – Game face. In life, we have to put our “game face” on and be rough and tough, oftentimes, as a means of survival. But, when we come to our Father God, we don’t have to be strong. A broken and a contrite spirit, He will not despise (see Psalm 51:17). We find a safe place of comfort under His wings. There, we can release our stresses, burdens, and heartaches. The Bible even tells us to cast our burdens upon the Lord because He cares for us and He won’t let us slip and fall (see Psalm 55:22). And remember, we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses (see Hebrews 4:15).


Listen to the comforting song posted below. ↓ ↓ ↓

Sources: biblehub.com, google.com, azquotes.com, youtube.com, polyvore.com
3 responses to “5 Important Truths I’ve Learned (Part 1)

  1. […] 5 Important Truths I’ve Learned (Part 1) Mar […]

Leave a Reply

