Revealing Truth Today

Standing for the truth and sharing Jesus with others!

The Walking Dead EXPOSED

on September 1, 2016

index

I have heard many people raving about “The Walking Dead” television show… “TWD” for short.  Many people who profess Christ are die-hard fans. Instantly, I became concerned for fellow-Christians who may watch this show; not in a judgmental way, but in a way that one would show concern for a friend who is in trouble. That is the reason for this blog, so hear me out…

Where I’m Coming From

As the author of this blog, I want my readers to know where I am coming from. I felt a strong sense that I needed to speak up on this topic in case there are those who are unaware of how a simple TV show can affect the mind and spirit. There is no need to re-invent the wheel, and since I already blogged on the way certain books, movies, and TV shows can impact us, I feel it unnecessary to go over that again. However, I will direct you to my previous blog HERE for more information.

As I have stated before, I am not perfect – God is. I am not the authoritarian – God is. This blog is yielded to God and I believe that He can work through this blog to bring things to the public’s attention. Quite honestly, it is hard to write blogs such as these; not because of the backlash I receive or even the name-calling. What is so hard for me, personally, is having to research things which I really have no interest in touching with a 10-foot pole; and for good reason.

As Christians, we must all strive daily to keep a pure mind and heart, free from the world’s pollution. James 4:8 says, “Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.”  Simply researching the topic is unsettling – and I honestly do not understand my fellow-Christians actively turning the television on to watch such gory shows. As the old saying goes, “You are what you eat.”  It breaks my heart and causes me deep concern and bewilderment that such nonsensical filth is infiltrating the minds of Christians. Nonetheless, I research in order to help others and that is my whole intent and motivation for doing so.

Before I “got in too deep” I wanted to get my facts straight. Admittedly, I have not watched the shows; therefore, I do not claim to be an authority on TWD. However, I feel that I have researched enough to point out a few things as some “food for thought”. Again, I am not confused as to why sinners would watch such shows – since darkness attracts darkness; but, what confuses me is how Christians can take such shows in. I have heard it said that movies and TV shows are like sermons with pictures. I would agree.

What is TWD All About?

twdThe Walking Dead is a television show about, well, walking dead zombies which they call “walkers”. According to TWD website, the storyline is this: “Waking up in an empty hospital after weeks in a coma, County Sheriff Rick Grimes (Andrew Lincoln) finds himself utterly alone. The world as he knows it is gone, ravaged by a zombie epidemic. The Walking Dead tells the story of the weeks and months that follow after the apocalypse.”

There is a lot of violence, gore, blood, shooting, and killing in the show. In fact, there is even TWD merchandise that, in essence, promotes killing. In an advertisement for TWD, the ad with the skull image said, “death knows no borders” and “fear the walking dead”. Of course, the Bible teaches contrary to fear and repeatedly says, “Fear not”. And we also know that “death knows no borders” is an entirely false statement in light of what the Bible states. Although these phrases are in regards to a fictitious plot, the mindset it strives to instill is very real.

But somehow, all of this is looked upon as good because it is the “bad guys” who are killed in the show. Totally fictitious, yes, but not a message we (Christians) should embrace or wear T-shirts promoting. I mean, am I way off in left field here? It seems common knowledge that a person who claims Christ should already know this. A valid question for Christians is posed in 2nd Corinthians 6:14: “…for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?”  Just the imagery, alone, looks like it is straight out of the pits of Hell!

It’s Gotten Out of Hand!

imagesThe Walking Dead comics and television show have garnered so much attention that August 6, 2016 was officially declared “The Walking Dead Day” in Cynthiana, Kentucky. A free, public event to celebrate this day was hosted by the Cynthiana-Harrison County Chamber of Commerce. Not completely shocking, yet, hard to come to grips with the fact that some who profess Christ helped fuel this fire. How? By patronizing such events, by purchasing TWD merchandise, by never missing an episode of the show, thus, increasing television ratings.

How else has TWD gotten out of hand? Well, it is even impacting the Director/Make-up Artist of the show. Greg Nicotero has many roles behind-the-scenes of TWD television show. In a recent interview with Deadline.com, Nicotero stated: ” I think it’s going to get a lot worse before it gets better for our group, and it’s pretty intense. I mean, the show, we’re sort of opening a new chapter.” He continued, “Everybody’s putting so much of their heart and soul into it. You know, after directing the premiere episode, I was ****** up for two weeks, you know? I really felt like I dragged a lot of my dearest friends into these really deep, dark places shooting that episode, and it’s been definitely an experience unlike anything that I’ve ever handled before.”

How then, can a Christian look on, craving more intense gore? Such gore and intensity that even the show’s crew member had trouble with it mentally! Why watch? As Missionary Keith Daniel once asked, “Is being entertained worth being defiled?” Don’t let your choices of entertainment get out of hand, fellow-Believers! We are accountable to God. The more evil we allow, the more we will crave to entertain us. Not to mention how such imagery desensitizes us. “Abstain from all appearance of evil” (see 1st Thess. 5:22).

A Double Standard

pictwd

(Click to enlarge)

As the above-mentioned scriptures briefly alluded to, having a double standard (a double mind) is dangerous and woeful for the Believer. We must choose if we stand for light or darkness. Yes, we must choose a “team”, so to speak. There is no neutral ground.

In James 3:11, another poignant question is posed, “Doth a fountain send forth at the same place sweet water and bitter?” God deals with absolutes – we are either in or out, hot or cold. In the book of Revelation, He says: “I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou wert cold or hot. So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spew thee out of my mouth” (Rev. 3:15-16). But He instructs in love. Later in this chapter, He says, “As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.” His love allows us a second chance to live a clean life pleasing to him while we still have time.

You see, double-mindedness breeds instability. “A double minded man is unstable in all his ways” (James 1:8). The Christian’s body is where the Holy Spirit lives – our bodies are His temple. But let’s remember that He is holy and does not mix with unholiness. We must choose, would we rather have the holy or the unholy? There can’t be both. Please see my previous post which speaks of this at length HERE.

The late pastor of Times Square Church in New York, David Wilkerson, often taught his congregation about the pitfalls that came with questionable entertainment and certain television shows. In a heartfelt sermon, he once warned his congregation by asking a valid question. He asked, “If you are sitting there when Jesus comes and you are watching that filth, how do you expect to come out of that cesspool suddenly and into the arms of Jesus?”

Take this to heart. Search your soul. Strive to please God above all other human desires. Eternity is at stake. The high road isn’t always the easy road – but it is always worth it! I would like to conclude with one final, resounding scripture from 2nd Corinthians 6. “Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you, and will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.”

 

Recommended Video

 

Sources:
biblehub.com   thewalkingdead.com   deadline.com   polyvore.com   keyword-suggestions.com

4 responses to “The Walking Dead EXPOSED

  1. Just because something is popular, doesn’t make it right. Thanks for shedding light on this and hopefully waking some people up.

  2. […] via The Walking Dead EXPOSED — Revealing Truth Today […]

  3. Colleen says:

    I couldn’t agree more! Shows like these really can affect people and it is great you are bringing light to this! We must be careful of what we take into our minds because it truly does affect the rest of us and ultimately can affect our walk with Christ. Thanks for this post!

Leave a Reply

