Revealing Truth Today

Standing for the truth and sharing Jesus with others!

Can You Defend Your Stance?

on January 21, 2014

ringsIn the near future, I plan on blogging about a hot-button issue… divorce, remarriage, and adultery. I have given this much study, thought, and prayer. It will likely be an exhaustive study that will need to be divided into parts. While it would be far more comfortable for me not to address this – I feel that I must, out of concern and love. If it were something that had no effect on the soul, I would be more at peace not concerning myself with it – but the fact is, this topic does deal with our eternal souls (see 1st Corinthians 6:9). Having said that, also note that I will address this topic with scripture and not from flighty, human-swayed opinions. It is an issue that is highly controversial and most Believers are divided on where they stand. There are several stances and variances on this topic.

What is your stance on the topic of divorce, remarriage, and adultery? What I am asking of you is… CAN YOU DEFEND YOUR STANCE WITH SCRIPTURE?? If so, I would love to hear your comments (please comment below). This is not meant to condemn anybody or to start arguments – it is simply so that we all may see stances, apart from our own, to encourage us to study out what the Bible really says about this important issue. I will use these comments to get a rough percentage of where the majority stands for my upcoming blog (for statistics) – but I will not disclose any names or identities.

Question: What is your stance on divorce, remarriage, and adultery?? (give scriptures – comment below)

So, the ball is in your court – I want to hear from YOU in the comments!!

6 responses to “Can You Defend Your Stance?

  1. Paul says:

    Must Hear Sermon for EVERYONE!

    “Love, American Style. Divorce in the Church”

    http://www.sermonaudio.com/sermoninfo.asp?m=t&s=1090612628

  2. Kimberly Dunn says:

    Matthew 19:3-9 Some Pharisees came to him to test him. They asked, “Is it lawful for a man to divorce his wife for any and every reason?” “Haven’t you read,” he replied, “that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female,’ and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’? So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.” “Why then,” they asked, “did Moses command that a man give his wife a certificate of divorce and send her away?” Jesus replied, “Moses permitted you to divorce your wives because your hearts were hard. But it was not this way from the beginning. I tell you that anyone who divorces his wife, except for marital unfaithfulness, and marries another woman commits adultery.”

    I believe that, according to this scripture, the only reason for divorce that God will honor is marital unfaithfulness. I personally believe that all avenues must be exhausted for reconciliation, and that divorce is a last resort. The Pharisees were asking if any and every reason was valid, but Jesus responded “except for marital unfaithfulness.” I had never really thought about it before, but it also says that God joins people together. We often think we are picking our mate, but according to this, it’s God that brings people together. Since God doesn’t make mistakes, divorce is like telling God “you made a mistake by joining me together with that person.”

    People shouldn’t get divorced because they “fall out of love” or any other reason. Fact is, some people just simply don’t want to have to put work into making a marriage last. They want the warm, giddy first feelings of love, but not the bad breath, bad hair day and sickness part of marriage.

    I still need to study about this more in depth, but this is a general outline of my feelings towards this topic.

    • Anon says:

      What about abusive situations? And I’m not just trying to argue or whatever. This is a huge and extremely valid question/reason. Or forced marriage? Child marriage? What about cases where it is extremely harmful to the wife or husband to be married? If a child is forcibly married to someone in a country where statutory rape exists, what about divorce then?

      I don’t mean to ask these in a rhetorical way, either.. And anyone can answer? Just the immediate thoughts that went off in my head while reading that.

  3. Kimberly Dunn says:

    I will do some research and try to respond intelligently…

Leave a Reply

